
Department of Social Services 
Frequently Asked Questions: Driver License Suspension 
PLEASE NOTE: The information on provided below is for informational purposes only and is not legal advice. If you need 
legal guidance, consider contacting an attorney 

_____________________________________________________________________________________  
 

• What is the Driver License Suspension Process? 
Child support payments are an important financial responsibility that helps to support your 
children. When child support is not paid, children may not have the support they need to flourish 
and grow.  
 
The Family Support Division (FSD) may order the Missouri Department of Revenue to suspend an 
individual’s driver license if the person fails to pay child support. This process begins when an 
individual ordered to pay support is not making payments according to the support order and owes 
either $2,500 in past-due support or an amount equal to or greater than 3 months of current 
support payments (whichever amount is lower).  
 
1. The FSD will serve you with a Notice of Intent to Suspend License by certified mail, or special 

process server or sheriff.  
This notice contains:  

o How much past due support you owe;  
o How to ask for a payment agreement or provide current employment information to 

avoid suspension;  
o How to request an administrative hearing to dispute the action  

 
2. You have 60 days after receiving this notice to enter into a payment agreement with the Family 

Support Division, provide employment information or request an administrative hearing to 
dispute the Notice.  
 
Entering into a payment agreement prevents your license from being suspended. Contact the 
Child Support Call Center at 1–866–313–9960 to discuss entering into a payment agreement.  
 
If you do not make your payments in a timely manner, FSD will suspend your license without 
additional notice to you. This means you will no longer be legally able to drive.  
 
If you are unable to pay the full payment amount, FSD can discuss a temporary agreement that 
will allow you to make partial payments. You will need to provide information about your 
financial situation to show that you are not able to pay your full obligation.  
 
A payment agreement for less than the full amount does not change the total amount of 
support you owe, but it does allow you to make smaller monthly payments on a temporary 
basis. It will result in an increase to the past due amount you owe (support arrearage) if current 
support is still due. 

 



 
• What happens if I fail to respond to a Notice of Intent to Suspend License? 

If you fail to respond to the Notice of Intent to Suspend License, FSD will order the Missouri 
Department of Revenue to suspend your Missouri driver license. 
 
You may still enter into a payment agreement to obtain a stay (temporarily stop) of your license 
suspension. A stay allows you to drive. If you do not make your payments according to the payment 
plan, your license suspension may be put in place again. The court can also stay your suspension if 
you show a significant hardship. 
 
Under Missouri law, your driver license suspension will end when child support payments have 
been fully paid. To reinstate your driver license after suspension, you must also pay any fees 
required by the Missouri Department of Revenue 

 
• How do I enter into a payment agreement when my license has been suspended? 

1. To obtain a stay (temporarily stop) after a license has been suspended, you must enter into a 
payment agreement. Contact the Child Support Call Center at 1–866–313–9960 to discuss 
entering into a payment agreement. 
 

2. If you can’t afford to make your payments, you can contact FSD and provide information about 
your financial situation to show that you are not able to pay the full amount. An agreement to 
make partial payments may be entered. This temporary agreement doesn’t change the total 
amount of support you owe, but allows you to make smaller monthly payments on a temporary 
basis. It will result in an increase in the past due amount you owe (your support arrearage) if 
current support is still due. 
 

3. When you make payments as agreed to under the payment agreement, FSD will enter a stay 
(temporarily stop) if a suspension is already in place. 
 

4. Entering into a payment agreement does not prohibit the Family Support Division from taking 
other actions to collect current and past due support. 
 

5. To help FSD determine what type of payment agreement is appropriate for you, you may want 
to provide FSD with your:  
 

o Employment Information (to allow for continuing payments through income 
withholding)   

o Income (paystubs, W2s, 1099s, bank records showing income)  
o Expenses (costs related to housing, food, and medical expenses)  
o Benefits received (Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or Veteran’s Administration 

Disability, Medicaid, SNAP (food stamp) benefits, HUD Certification of Homelessness) 
  



 
• How do I request a hearing on a “Notice of intent to Suspend License,” and what should I expect 

at the hearing?  
An individual ordered to pay support has 60 days from the date the notice was served to request 
an administrative hearing. This request must be in writing and should be mailed to: 

 Family Support Division 
 P.O. Box 6790 
 Jefferson City, MO 65102-7545 

 
At an administrative hearing, the only issues to be decided, according to Missouri law, are: 

o The identity of the person who owes support, 
o Whether the amount of support owed is $2,500 or is equal to or greater than 3 months 

of support payments (whichever is less), and 
o Whether the individual who owes support has entered into a payment agreement 

 
The Division of Legal Services will issue a decision that finds whether the requirements to suspend 
the license under Missouri law are met. If the hearing decision finds the requirements were met, 
then FSD will proceed with suspension, if appropriate.  
 
The Family Support Division or the courts may issue a stay (temporarily stop) of driver license 
suspension at any point after suspension. 

 
 

• How do I ask the court for a finding of hardship to stay (temporarily stop) my driver license 
suspension? 
The court, but not the Family Support Division, may stay (temporarily stop) suspension of a driver 
license when a suspension or continued suspension would create a significant hardship to you, your 
employees, any legal dependent residing in your household, or persons, businesses or other 
entities served by you.  
 
To file a petition for hardship with the court, you may be required to pay a filing fee.  
 
You should provide the Family Support Division with a copy of any petition filed with the court 
asking for a stay (temporarily stop) of driver license suspension based on a hardship and any 
resulting court order 


