Child Support Enforcement
Frequently Asked Questions About The
is my check $10 less than the amount the noncustodial parent paid?
On January 1, 2002, Missouri Child Support Enforcement (CSE) implemented a $10 annual payment-processing fee for payments received on non-IV-D orders through the Family Support Payment Center (FSPC). This fee is similar to the fee the circuit clerk charged prior to centralized collections.
authority does CSE have for charging this fee?
Section 454.548, RSMo, allows CSE to charge a $10 annual payment-processing fee to reimburse the state for the costs associated with processing support payments.
is the state involved in my case?
CSE is not involved in your case, but under state law, Missouri now has one location that receipts and disburses support payments, regardless of whether the Division has a case open. (Sections 454.530-454.560, RSMo) This location is known as the Family Support Payment Center (FSPC). CSE is required under state law to manage the FSPC.
will the state use the $10 fee it collects?
The $10 annual fee will be used to reimburse the state for the costs associated with processing support payments.
often will the state collect the $10 fee?
This is an annual (once per year) payment-processing fee. CSE will collect the $10 annual fee from the first payment processed by the FSPC for the calendar year. If the first payment processed is less than $10, CSE will collect the balance from subsequent payments until the $10 annual fee is satisfied. For example, if the first payment processed for the year is only $5, CSE will retain the $5 for the processing fee and collect the remaining $5 from subsequent payments until CSE has collected the $10 annual payment-processing fee.
the noncustodial parent have to pay the $10 annual payment-processing
No, the fee is assessed against the custodial parent for receipting and processing payments. The noncustodial parent will receive credit on the payment history for the full payment (s)he paid.
have multiple orders with the same noncustodial parent. How much will
CSE collect for the fee?
CSE will collect a $10 annual fee for each non-IV-D order where the FSPC receipts and processes payments.
I don't receive a payment during the year, will the fee carry over and
be collected from a payment received the next year?
No. If the fee is not satisfied during the calendar year, it is not collected from payments received the next year. The fee is closed at the end of the year. However, a new fee will be assessed for the next year.
For further information on the annual non-IV-D payment processing fee, you may contact the Family Support Payment Center at 1-800-225-0530.