What You May Not Know About ATV Safety

Across the United States, many children are being injured or die as a result of an ATV (all-terrain vehicle) accident. ATV's are motorized cycles with 3 or 4 tires. They are designed to be used off-road. These vehicles can weigh between 300 and 500 pounds, and they can run an average speed of 20 to 55 miles per hour. Most ATV injuries occur when the driver loses control of the ATV and the vehicle rolls over; the driver or passenger is thrown off; or there is a collision with a fixed object.

In Missouri, children die every year as a result of ATV accidents. Three of the 93 motor vehicle fatalities reviewed by CFRP panels in 2007, involved all-terrain vehicles (ATVs). Only one of the three Missouri children who died in ATV-related accidents in 2007, was wearing a helmet. In 2007, only one of the ATV fatalities among Missouri children was age 16; the other two were age 12 and 13.

Missouri deaths to due to ATV's in 2007:

•A 13-year old was driving an ATV on a gravel road, when he lost control and ran off the roadway, striking a tree. He suffered massive head injuries. He was not wearing a helmet.

•A 12-year-old was being taught to drive an ATV by his aunt. The child was on the front seat and the aunt was in the rear. They were doing circles in a rural yard, when he got too close to a barbed wire fence; hit the throttle instead of the brake, sending the ATV into a fence at a high rate of speed. The child suffered fatal injuries and was pronounced dead at the scene.

These are some things parents can do to keep their kids safe on ATVs:

◆A child under the age of 6 years old should not be riding an ATV.

- ◆A child between the ages of 6 and 16, should be riding an ATV that is the appropriate size for their age: •6 years and older Under 70cc
 - •12 years and older 70-90 cc
 - •16 years and older Over 90cc
- Always provide supervision to children while riding an ATV.
- Provide a helmet for your child to wear while riding an ATV.
- •Enroll your child in an ATV training course.

•Know the state laws surrounding ATVs (registration requirements, required safety equipment, rules of operation)

These are things children can do to stay safe on an ATV:

•If you're between the ages of 6 and 16, only ride an ATV when your parents can supervise you.

- Always wear a helmet.
- •Wear goggles, boots and gloves that will protect you from harm, while riding an ATV.
- •Never ride an ATV as a passenger.
- •Never operate an ATV with a passenger on board. ATV's are one person vehicles.
- *Avoid riding your ATV on steep slopes or rocky terrain.
- •Don't operate ATV's at high speeds.
- *Do not drive your ATV on public roads.

For more information, visit these web sites:

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, www.ATVSafety.gov All-Terrain Vehicle Safety Institute, www.atvsafety.org Missouri State Highway Patrol, <u>http://www.mshp.dps.mo.gov/MSHPWeb/Publications/Brochures/documents/SHP-448.pdf</u> Injury Free Coalition for Kids, <u>http://www.injuryfree.org/safetytpc_display.cfm?PermanentId=D331E956-B845-4AFC-9478A4A8CAC0AE55</u>