Department of Social Services Frequently Asked Questions: Child Care Provider Training Requirements

Do the training requirements apply to all child care providers?

Initial and annual training is required for ALL licensed and license-exempt child care providers with a contract or registration agreement with the Department of Social Services to provide care to children eligible for child care subsidy. Anyone who is responsible for the supervision of children (ex. child care provider, staff, or volunteer counted in the child/staff ratio) must complete the required training topics.

Public School Exception: License-exempt public school providers may use Professional Development trainings required by their school as the 6 clock hours of annual required training, for registration renewal purposes. Staff members who do not participate in Professional Development must take 6 clock hours of training through the Workshop Calendar.

Where can I find the actual law that states who must complete the training?

The training requirements are outlined in the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014 and defined in federal regulation, <u>45 CFR part 98 (98.41 and 98.44)</u>.

What initial trainings are required and where can I find the training?

You can find the list of initial trainings toward the bottom of our **Training Requirements** webpage.

When do new employees have to have the initial training requirements finished?

Any new staff or volunteers must complete their required initial training within 90 days of being hired. For example, if someone is hired on February 15, they will have until May 15 to complete training.

All training must be complete before an employee is given sole responsibility for the supervision of children. If the new employee has already completed the initial required trainings approved by the Department of Social Services, the employee does not have to re-take the training again unless it is Pediatric First Aid/CPR training, as these must be maintained and current.

I am a renewing license-exempt child care provider and have new staff. What are the training requirements for the new staff?

New staff must complete the CCDF Health & Safety Training and be certified in First Aid/CPR within 90 days of hire and prior to being given sole responsibility for the supervision of children. New staff may need to take additional training from the Missouri Workshop Calendar in order to meet the 6 clock-hours requirement for registration renewal.

How much will the initial and annual training cost?

The costs of individual trainings may vary. To check the cost of a training, please visit the Missouri Workshop Calendar.

Will I be reimbursed for initial trainings or annual training costs?

No, these training costs will not be reimbursed, but every attempt has been made to identify trainings with low or no cost.

Do I and/or my employees have to go through the Missouri Workshop Calendar to register for Pediatric First Aid/CPR? I had my certification completed by a local Fire Department, does that count?

Every child care provider, employee, and/or volunteer responsible for the supervision of children is required to complete Pediatric First Aid/CPR training. The First Aid/CPR certification does not have to be completed through the Missouri Workshop Calendar (unless you are a licensed* child care provider) but it must be completed by one of the following models:

- American Academy of Pediatrics PedFACTs
- American Red Cross
- American Heart Association
- American Safety and Health Institute
- EMS Safety
- National Safety Council
- Emergency Care and Safety Institute
- ProTrainings
- American Trauma Event Management (ATEM)

***NOTE: There is an exception for licensed child care providers.** For training to count toward annual clock hour requirements of the Department of Health and Senior Services, Section for Child Care Regulation, it must be processed through the Missouri Workshop Calendar.

Can we have multiple employees watch the approved on-line training(s) and all participants still get credit for the training?

Yes, Educare can provide the trainings to a group, either in-person or virtually. The trainer will take attendance and enter the information into OPEN. If Educare is not providing the training, staff must take the training individually and input their individual information (including MOPD ID) at the end of the training in order to receive credit.

Do all of these initial and annual trainings have to be completed every year?

No, initial required trainings do not have to be taken again unless the agency tells you otherwise. The only exception to this is Pediatric First Aid/CPR training. You must maintain/keep your Pediatric First Aid/CPR training current.

Child care providers who are renewing their registration must also complete 6 hours of training each year from the Missouri Workshop Calendar before the registration can be renewed.

If you are a licensed child care provider, we will accept the clock-hour training required by the Department of Health and Senior Services to maintain your license.

When does the annual training requirement have to be finished?

Annual trainings must be completed within the child care provider's registration period and must be completed before your registration can be renewed.

Do new hires have to complete both the initial and annual training requirements?

Yes, all new hires must complete the initial training requirements within 90 days of hire and must have all initial training complete before they can be left solely responsible for the supervision of children.

Annual training is required each year following the staff member's first year of employment, and must be completed before the child care provider's upcoming registration renewal.

How will you know if a provider and their staff/volunteers have completed the initial and annual training?

In order to track completion of training, the child care provider and staff/volunteers responsible for the supervision of children must register with <u>Opportunities in a Professional Education Network (OPEN</u>) for a Missouri Professional Development (MOPD) ID, create a Toolbox account, and enroll in the MOPD Registry.

- For License-Exempt child care providers, one person (usually the owner or director of the facility) must create a Toolbox account, request Program Level Access, and associate each staff member to the facility DVN for tracking purposes. As staff is hired or leaves, the owner/director should add/remove the staff's MOPD ID to/from the facility DVN in OPEN.
- For Registered Six or Fewer (SOF) child care providers, once you have received your DVN from DSS, you will need to join the MOPD Registry and request Program Level Access.

How do I get help with the Missouri Workshop Calendar?

Email Child Care Aware at info@moworkshopcalendar.org or call 800-200-9017 for help.

How can I get or look up my MOPD ID?

You can ask for your MOPD ID <u>online</u> or by calling 573-884-3373.

How do I look at my staff's training records online?

Directors, owners, or designees can create an account on the Toolbox website and submit a form to OPEN to get permission to view program records. Staff MOPD IDs can then be added to the program record so training records can be viewed.

How do I look up my own training record?

You can view and print your individual MOPD ID records by logging into your **OPEN** account.

Who do I contact if my MOPD ID or Toolbox is not working?

Email OPEN at openinitiative@missouri.edu or call 573-884-3373.

How do I get a copy of my certificate for the online training offered by DSS-CD?

A copy of the certificate is sent to the email address provided at the end of your training. If you do not see the email, it may be in the Spam or Junk Mail folder.

If you do not get your certificate you may email <u>cd.ccdftraining@dss.mo.gov</u> to verify that your training was completed and accepted. Please provide your name and MOPD ID when sending an email. If your training is verified as completed, you will be able to see it by <u>logging into your Toolbox</u>.