
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rules and boundaries 
should be discussed that 
address  topics such as 
who can come over 
when the parent is not 
home, online safety, and 
access to adult cable. 
Safety precautions 
should also be taken by 
locking up guns, alcohol, 
potential poisons, and 
medications. Your child 
should know basic first 
aid and have access to 
emergency contacts in 
case you can not be 
reached. Does your child 
know what to do if the 
lights go out or if the 
doors or windows are 
open or broken when 
they come home?  
 
Being trusted to stay 
home alone can be a 
positive experience for a 
child who is mature and 
well prepared. It can 
boost their confidence 
and promote 
independence. It can 
also cause anxiety and 
stress for some children, 
especially if it occurs 
frequently or for long 
periods of time. Even the 
most responsible child 
should not be left alone 
too often.  
 
       
 
 
 

 

 
 
When making the decision of 
whether your child is 
responsible enough to be left 
home alone, there are 
several factors that need to 
be considered including an 
assessment of their 
confidence and maturity, as 
well as their skills at meeting 
their basic needs and 
keeping themselves safe. 
Questions to ask while 
making this decision include: 
Can the child handle 
boredom and loneliness? 
Are they uncomfortable or 
afraid to be alone? Do they 
know how to safely fix 
themselves a snack or 
meal? Do they know how to 
respond if someone calls or 
knocks on the door? Do they 
follow your rules regularly? 
How do they respond to 
stress? Even if they are 
ready to stay home alone, 
are they ready and capable 
of caring for siblings? 
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Helpful Child 
Safety Resources: 

Red Cross 
Babysitter Safety 
Classes 
 
Family Decision 
Making Tools 
Factsheet and Tips 
for Families 
Latchkey Kids 
Calling Program  

 
Tips for Parents: 

 Have a Trial Period 

 Start with Short 
Time frames 

 Role Play 

 Establish Rules  

 Discuss 
Emergencies 

 Create an 
Emergency  
Contact List and 
Escape Plans 

 Check In 

 Talk About it 

 Don’t Overdo it  

The decision to leave a child 
home alone is often the 
cause of anxiety for parents. 
Many have to leave their 
children home alone for 
periods of time, often during 
after school hours while the 
parent is at work or social 
engagements. Many families 
have few choices due to the 
limited availability and cost 
associated with child care 
and after school programs.  
 
Failure to provide adequate 
supervision is considered 
neglect in most states. 
However few states provide 
details on what is “adequate” 
supervision, or the 
appropriate age that a child 
can be left alone. Only four 
states have legislation that 
provide legal age restrictions 
for children left alone: Illinois 
age 14, Oregon age 10, and 
Maryland and North Carolina 
at age 8. There are 11 
additional states that provide 
recommendations ranging 
from ages 8 to 12 years.  
Missouri statutes do not 
provide a legal age 
restriction. The Children’s 
Division Abuse/Neglect 
Hotline takes reports of a 
child under age 8 left alone, 
with a face to face safety 
check held within 3 hours. 

When is it okay for your child to be home alone? 
 

http://www.redcross.org/take-a-class
http://www.redcross.org/take-a-class
http://www.redcross.org/take-a-class
http://extension.missouri.edu/bsf/selfcare/ChildSelf-CareHandout1.pdf
http://extension.missouri.edu/bsf/selfcare/ChildSelf-CareHandout1.pdf
https://www.childwelfare.gov/pubs/factsheets/homealone.cfm
https://www.childwelfare.gov/pubs/factsheets/homealone.cfm
http://www.latchkey-kids.com/
http://www.latchkey-kids.com/



