YOUTH ON RUN PROTOCOL

<u>Section 4, Chapter 4 (Working with Children), Subsection 8 – Missing Person Report Procedure please</u> refer to the Child Welfare Manual for more detailed information

4.8.2 Definitions

Missouri statutes 43.400 – 43.410, RSMo., contain provisions for reporting missing persons to the State Highway Patrol.

A missing child/juvenile is defined as "any person who is under the age of seventeen years, whose temporary or permanent residence is in the state of Missouri or who is believed to be within the state of Missouri, whose location has not been determined, and who has been reported as missing to a law enforcement agency."

A child/juvenile may be considered missing if they meet one of the following characteristics:

- If they have run away from the residence of a parent, legal guardian, or custodian;
- If they are missing under circumstances indicating that the person was or is in the presence of or under the control of a party whose presence or control was or is in violation of a permanent or temporary court order and fourteen or more days have elapsed, during which time the party has failed to file any pleading with the court seeking modification of the permanent or temporary court order.

Anyone over the age of seventeen years is considered missing if their location is unknown and meet one of the following characteristics:

- Is physically or mentally disabled to the degree that the person is dependent upon an agency or another individual;
- Is missing under circumstances indicating that the missing person's safety may be in danger;
- Is missing under involuntary or unknown circumstances;
- Is missing under circumstances indicating that the person was or is in the presence of or under the control of a party whose presence or control was or is in violation of a permanent or temporary court order and there are reasonable grounds to believe that the person may be taken outside of the United States.

For general purposes, a foster child is considered to be missing or on run status as soon as their physical whereabouts are unknown to CD or their physical custodian. A foster child is under the care and custody of the CD and responsibility therefore lies with the CD staff, contracted service workers, and resource provider to ensure the safety and well-being to the best of their ability.

4.8.3 Runaway Child/Youth Protocol

Developed from the current policy

- 1. **IMMEDIATELY** notify law enforcement (**NO LATER** than 24 hours) to file a "missing child report" and document report number & name of person taking the report.
 - a. Contact your Supervisor & Circuit Manager
- 2. Within 24 hours, notify the parents, Guardian Ad Litem, and Juvenile Officer.
 - a. Request a "pick up order" or Capias order from the Juvenile Officer
- Within 24 hours, notify the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC). <u>This is</u> for any person under the age of twenty-one (21) missing from care. Call 1-800-THE-LOST or complete an online report at <u>https://cmfc.missingkids.org/reportit</u> Record the confirmation number in a contact in FACES.

- 4. Within 24 hours, update FACES Alternative Care Client Information.
 - a. Enter temporary location as RUN. If the child is located before the 7th day, end the temporary location.
- 5. Within 3 business days Complete Missing Youth Status Report CD-308, upload to OnBase, and Email to <u>CD.MissingYouth@dss.mo.gov</u>
- 6. Within 1 week and monthly thereafter, contact and document in FACES:
 - a. Family members
 - b. Friends
 - c. School Faculty
 - d. Service Providers
- 7. Monthly search, and document in FACES:
 - a. Family Support Division (IPAR, IMES)
 - b. MO HealthNet (MXIX, MCII)
 - c. Food Stamp Assistance (FAMIS, FAPC)
 - d. TLO search or other public record databases

Central Office Point Person:

- 1. Review the daily missing child listing to identify any new youth from the region
 - a. Follow up on any youth missing for 3 business days or more if the checklist was not received from the worker
- 2. Receive Checklist from worker Verify dates, report numbers, confirmation numbers
- 3. Enter missing child into Regional Missing Child spreadsheet

When a Child Returns from Missing

- 1. **Immediately** assess the child's health and wellbeing obtain immediate medical attention if needed.
- 2. Within 24 Hours staff must complete the CD-288 Human Trafficking Assessment Tool.
- 3. Within 24 Hours notify law enforcement, juvenile office, Guardian Ad litem, resource provider, the youth's parents, and parent attorney as appropriate of the child's return or recovery.
- 4. Within 24 Hours notify National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) of the child's return.
- 5. Within 24 Hours arrange for a medical examination.
- 6. Within 24 Hours change to residence code on child's AC Client Information screen in FACES to reflect current placement in order to re-enroll child in MO HealthNet.
- 7. Within 72 Hours schedule a FST meeting to address
 - a. Safety concerns
 - b. Reason the child/youth ran away
 - c. Additional support services the child/youth may need
 - d. Unexplored or non-traditional placements options
 - e. Potential changes in the child's/youth's case plan