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SUBJECT: PAYMENT PROCESS FOR CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

BACKGROUND SCREENING BY OTHER STATES THAT 
CHARGE A FEE 

 
DISCUSSION: 
 
The Children’s Division policy regarding background checks of resource providers 
includes a Child Abuse and Neglect history check in every state that every adult in the 
household has lived in since the age of 17. 
 
California Department of Social Services has a List of Contacts For Other States Child 
Abuse and Neglect Registries which is updated regularly.  Workers can use this list to 
obtain contact information and potential fees. 
 
States Requiring a Fee 
 
There are a few states that currently require a fee to provide this service: 
California    $15.00 
Colorado   $10.00 
Minnesota   $20.00 
Pennsylvania   $10.00 
South Carolina $15.00 
Wisconsin – There is no fee at state level but counties may charge a fee 
 
Process for Paying Fee 
 
The process to pay states that charge for this service is as follows: 
 

 Out-of-State CAN checks will be paid using a PVQ document in SAM II.  
 An application should be obtained and completed from the State from which you 

want the CAN check.  Applications are located at  List of Contacts For Other 
States Child Abuse and Neglect Registries  
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 Complete the Generic Invoice, located in the Reference Documents and 
Resources section on E-forms, and stamp with the words “original only invoice 
available”.   

 Copy the application and invoice making sure the amount due is entered by the 
submitting state and indicated somewhere on the out-of-state application.  

 Payment is entered into SAM II using a PVQ document. 
 The documents should then be placed in the following order and sent to Central 

Office for approval to Financial Management & Operational Services, P.O. Box 
2320, Jefferson City, MO 65102:    

  
Other attributes Page of SAM II 

   
  Original generic invoice 
  Copy of CAN check application 
   (Staple these two items together) 
   
  Copy of generic invoice 
  Original CAN check application 
   (Staple these two items together) 
 
  Staple all of the above together in the top middle of the page.   
 
The following coding should be used: 
 
Fund:    0610 
Agency:  886 
Organization:  Local org 
Appropriation:  4858 
Function:  X799 
Object Code:  2544 
Reporting Category: F007 
 
Exempt States 
There are two states that are exempt from the federal Adam Walsh Act because they 
have no central registry: 
 
Oklahoma:  If you contact the individual listed on the List of Contacts For Other States 
Child Abuse and Neglect Registries, you can get information only when a current CAN 
investigation is being conducted 
 
Wisconsin: Has no central Registry, but information can be collected by following the 
request procedure stated on the List of Contacts For Other States Child Abuse and 
Neglect Registries 
 
 
NECESSARY ACTION: 
 

1. Review this memorandum with all Children’s Division staff. 
2. All questions should be cleared through normal supervisory channels and 

directed to: 
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PDS CONTACT: 
Elizabeth Tattershall 
573-522-1191 
Elizabeth.Tattershall@dss.mo.gov  
 

PROGRAM MANAGER: 
Melody Yancey 
573-522-5062 
Melody.Yancey@dss.mo.gov  
 

CHILD WELFARE MANUAL REVISIONS: 
NA 
 
FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS: 
Generic Invoice 

REFERENCE DOCUMENTS and RESOURCES: 
List of Contacts For Other States Child Abuse and Neglect Registries  

RELATED STATUTE: 
Adam Walsh Act 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE RULE: 
N/A. 
 
COUNCIL ON ACCREDITATION (COA) STANDARDS: 
N/A  
 
PROGRAM IMPROVEMENT PLAN (PIP): 
N/A. 
 
SACWIS REQUIREMENTS: 
N/A  
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