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M E M O R A N D U M 

 
TO:   REGIONAL, EXECUTIVE STAFF, CIRCUIT MANAGERS,  

AND CHILDREN’S DIVISION STAFF 
 
FROM:  PAULA NEESE, DIRECTOR 
 
SUBJECT:  MEDICAL RECORDS FEES 
 
DISCUSSION:   
 

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform staff of a change in the maximum 
reimbursement rates for paying providers for medical records.  The maximum 
reimbursement rates for paying providers for medical records are changed effective 
February 1, 2010.  The new amounts are: 
 

• A copying fee of $20.65 and 49 cents per page for the cost of supplies and labor;  
• postage, to include packaging and delivery cost; and  
• notary fee, not to exceed $2.00, if requested.  

 

The law does not set a limit on the charge for postage, packaging and delivery.  When 
processing invoices, allow the amount invoiced, unless you can document the amount is 
unreasonable. 
 
Section 191.227 Revised Statues of Missouri sets a base for the costs of copying 
records.  The law requires the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services 
(DHSS) to determine the new amounts each year. The new rate information is available 
on their website at:  www.dhss.mo.gov/ProtectingThePublic/FeesMedicalRecords.html. 
 
The following table shows the changes for the handling and copy fees: 
 
Effective Date Handling Fees Copies 
02/01/2003 $15.70 $0.37 
02/01/2004 $16.33 $0.38 
02/01/2005 $17.05 $0.40 
02/01/2006 $17.77 $0.42 
02/01/2007 $18.49 $0.44 
02/01/2008 $19.31 $0.46 
02/01/2009 $20.02 $0.47 
02/01/2010 $20.65 $0.49 

What’s Inside: 
Increase in the 
maximum 
reimbursement rate for 
paying providers for 
medical records 

 

http://www.dhss.mo.gov/ProtectingThePublic/FeesMedicalRecords.html


When Children’s Division staff request and receive medical records from providers, all 
invoices for payment for those records must be submitted on a CS-65.  Specific 
instructions for completing the CS-65 are provided in the Child Welfare Manual, Section 
2, Chapter 4, Attachment A. 
 
Immediately, allow the provider charges not to exceed these maximums for services 
provided on or after February 1, 2010.   
 
NECESSARY ACTION 

1. Review this memorandum with all Children’s Division staff. 
2. Review revised Child Welfare Manual chapters as indicated below. 
3. All questions should be cleared through normal supervisory channels and 

directed to: 
 
PDS CONTACT 
Randall D. McDermit 
573-751-8932 
Randall.D.McDermit@dss.mo.gov 

PROGRAM MANAGER 
Amy L. Martin 
573-751-3171  
Amy.L.Martin@dss.mo.gov 
 
 

CHILD WELFARE MANUAL REVISIONS 
Section 2, Chapter 4, Attachment A SAFE-CARE (Sexual Assault Forensic 
Examination- Child Abuse Resource and Education ) Network  
Section 3, Chapter 5, Attachment B Listing of Purchased Services 
 
FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS   
N/A 

REFERENCE DOCUMENTS AND RESOURCES 
N/A 

RELATED STATUTE 
Section 191.227 RSMo.  

ADMINISTRATIVE RULE 
N/A 

COUNCIL ON ACCREDITATION (COA) STANDARDS 
N/A 
 
CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES REVIEW (CFSR) 
N/A 

PROTECTIVE FACTORS  
Parental Resilience – N/A 
Social Connections – N/A 
Knowledge of Parenting and Child Development – N/A 
Concrete Support in Times of Need – N/A 
Social and Emotional Competence of Children – N/A 
 
FACES REQUIREMENTS 
N/A 

 

mailto:Randall.D.McDermit@dss.mo.gov
mailto:Amy.L.Martin@dss.mo.gov
http://www.dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section2/ch4/sec2ch4attacha.htm
http://www.dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section2/ch4/sec2ch4attacha.htm
http://www.dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section3/ch5/sec3ch5attachb.htm
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c100-199/1910000227.htm
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