CD13-28
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

CHILDREN'’S DIVISION What’s Inside:
Updated Fees for
P. 0. BOX 88 Medical Records

JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI
April 5, 2013

MEMORANDUM

TO: REGIONAL, EXECUTIVE STAFF, CIRCUIT MANAGERS,
AND CHILDREN'’S DIVISION STAFF

FROM: CANDACE SHIVELY, DIRECTOR

SUBJECT: MEDICAL RECORDS FEES

DISCUSSION:

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform staff of a change in the maximum
reimbursement rates for medical records.

The maximum reimbursement rates for paying providers for medical records were
changed effective February 1, 2013. The new amounts are:

e A copying fee of $22.82 and 53 cents per page for the cost of supplies and labor
e Postage to include packaging and delivery cost

Section 191.227 Revised Statutes of Missouri sets a base for the costs of copying
records. The law requires the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
(DHSS) to determine the new amounts each year. The new rate information is available
on their website at: www.dhss.mo.gov/ProtectingThePublic/FeesMedicalRecords.html.

The following table shows the changes for the handling and copy fees:

Effective Date Handling Fees Copies
02/01/2003 $15.70 $0.37
02/01/2004 $16.33 $0.38
02/01/2005 $17.05 $0.40
02/01/2006 $17.77 $0.42
02/01/2007 $18.49 $0.44
02/01/2008 $19.31 $0.46
02/01/2009 $20.02 $0.47
02/01/2010 $20.65 $0.49
02/01/2011 $21.36 $0.50
02/01/2013 $22.82 $0.53



http://www.dhss.mo.gov/ProtectingThePublic/FeesMedicalRecords.html

When Children’s Division staff request and receive medical records from providers, all
invoices for payment for those records must be submitted via Payment Request.
Specific instructions for completing the Payment Request are provided in the FACES
Financial System Payment Handbook
(http://dssweb/fsd/administration/fmos/docs/faces _handbook files.pdf).

Effective immediately, provider charges shall not exceed these maximums for services
provided on or after February 1, 2013.

NECESSARY ACTION
1. Review this memorandum with all Children’s Division staff.
2. Review revised Child Welfare Manual chapters as indicated below.
3. All questions should be cleared through normal supervisory channels and

directed to:
PDS CONTACT PROGRAM MANAGER
Lori Masek Christy Collins
573-751-4344 573-751-9603
Lori.Masek@dss.mo.gov Christy.Collins@dss.mo.gov

CHILD WELFARE MANUAL REVISIONS

Section 2 Chapter 4 Attachment A SAFE-CARE (Sexual Assault Forensic Examination-
Child Abuse Resource and Education ) Network

Section 8 Chapter 7.2 Children’s Treatment Services (CTS)

FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS
N/A

REFERENCE DOCUMENTS AND RESOURCES
N/A

RELATED STATUTE
Section 191.227 RSMo.

ADMINISTRATIVE RULE
N/A

COUNCIL ON ACCREDITATION (COA) STANDARDS
N/A

CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES REVIEW (CFSR)
N/A

PROTECTIVE FACTORS

Parental Resilience — N/A

Social Connections — N/A

Knowledge of Parenting and Child Development — N/A
Concrete Support in Times of Need — N/A

Social and Emotional Competence of Children — N/A

FACES REQUIREMENTS
N/A
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mailto:Randall.D.McDermit@dss.mo.gov
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