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DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

 
CHILDREN’S DIVISION 

 
P. O. BOX 88 

 
JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 

 
February 15, 2017 

 
M E M O R A N D U M 

 
TO: CHILDREN’S DIVISION AND CONTRACTED STAFF 
 
FROM:   TIM DECKER, DIRECTOR 
 
SUBJECT: MEDICAL RECORD FEES 
 
DISCUSSION: 
 
The purpose of this memorandum is to inform staff of a change in the maximum 
reimbursement rates for medical records. 
 
The maximum reimbursement rates for paying providers for medical records were 
changed effective February 1, 2017.  The new amounts are: 
 
• A copying fee of $24.85 and $0.57 cents per page for the cost of supplies and 

labor for copies in paper form  
• An additional fee of $23.26 if records are maintained off-site 
• Copies provided electronically (e.g. disc, fax, email) have a maximum copying 

fee of $24.85 plus $0.57 cents per page, or a $108.88 total, whichever is less 
• Postage to include packaging and delivery cost 
 
Section 191.227 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri sets a base rate for the maximum 
costs of copying records.  The law requires the Missouri Department of Health and 
Senior Services (DHSS) to determine the amounts each year.  The new rate information 
is available on their website at: 
 
http://health.mo.gov/atoz/fees.php 
 
The following table shows the changes for the handling and copy fees: 
 
Effective Date Handling Fees Copies 
2/1/2011 $21.36 $0.50 
2/1/2013 $22.82 $0.53 
2/1/2014 $23.38 $0.54 
2/1/2015 $23.94 $0.55 
2/1/2016 $24.57 $0.56 
 

http://health.mo.gov/atoz/fees.php
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When Children’s Division staff request and receive medical records from providers, all 
invoices for payment for those records must be submitted via Payment Request.  
Specific instructions for completing the Payment Request are provided in the FACES 
Financial System Payment Handbook. 
     
http://dssweb/fsd/administration/fmos/docs/faces_handbook_files.pdf 
 
Effective immediately, provider charges shall not exceed these maximums for services 
provided on or after February 1, 2017. 
. 
NECESSARY ACTION 
 

1. Review this memorandum with all Children’s Division staff. 
2. Review revised Child Welfare Manual chapters as indicated below. 
3. All questions should be cleared through normal supervisory channels and 

directed to: 
 
PDS CONTACT 
Cari Pointer 
(573) 751-8930 
Cari.A.Pointer@dss.mo.gov 
 

MANAGER CONTACT 
Christy Collins  
(573) 751-9603 
Christy.Collins@dss.mo.gov 
  
 

CHILD WELFARE MANUAL REVISIONS 
Section 2 Chapter 4 Attachment A SAFE-CARE (Sexual Assault Forensic Examination-
Child Abuse Resource and Education) Network 
Section 8 Chapter 7.2 Children's Treatment Services (CTS) 
 
FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS 
N/A 

REFERENCE DOCUMENTS AND RESOURCES 
N/A 

RELATED STATUTE 
Section 191.227 RSMo. 
 
 
 

http://dssweb/fsd/administration/fmos/docs/faces_handbook_files.pdf
http://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section2/ch4/sec2ch4attacha.htm
http://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section2/ch4/sec2ch4attacha.htm
http://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section8/ch7/sec8ch7sub2.htm
http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/19100002271.html

	M E M O R A N D U M

