

If you need to give up your newborn You have a safe choice.

What is Missouri's Safe Place for Newborns Law?

Missouri's Safe Place for Newborns Law allows you to permanently give up your newborn up to 45 days old without prosecution, as long as it is done according to law and safely.

Before making this decision, you should know:

- This is permanent
- The newborn must be safe and left with an appropriate professional
- The other parent has rights and will have 30 days to regain custody

Who can I leave my newborn with?



Your newborn will be safe and protected.

Newborns will receive any medical treatment necessary and the Children's Division will be notified to help find a safe, stable home with a nurturing family.