Sexual Assault Forensic Examination
(SAFE) Program

Missouri Department of Public Safety
OFFICE FOR VICTIMS OF CRIME



Notice

The following presentation is for reference and guidance only.
It is designed to answer frequently asked questions about

claim submission and eligibility requirements for the
reimbursement of sexual assault forensic exams.

The information in this presentation is based on
Missouri statute 595.220 RSMo and
rules and regulations 11 CSR 30-12.010.



Purpose

To reimburse eligible medical providers for
charges incurred while performing a forensic exam
to gather evidence of the crime from persons who

have been victims of sexual assault in Missouri.



Eligibility Requirements

» Crime must have occurred in Missouri or, if unknown, the
patient must be a Missouri resident

» Medical providers must submit claims for reimbursement to the
SAFE Program within 90 days of the forensic exam

Email: SAFE-CPAFE@dps.mo.gov
Fax: (573) 526-4940
Mail: PO Box 1589

Jefferson City, MO 65102

» Claim documents:
1. SAFE Program Report
2. Procedural checklist
3. Itemized billing statement



SAFE Program Report

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAMINATION (SAFE) PROGRAM REPORT
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AUTHORIZATION FOR FORENSIC EXAMINATION — REQUESTING AGENCY
uest a forensic examinafion and collection of evidence for suspected sexual abusa:

SXAMINNG MEDICAL PROVIDER NAME AND TITLE

AL TAX 1D MUMEER,

5AFE CARE 1D NUMEER
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FOR CHILDREN'S DIVISION USE ONLY
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Available at dps.mo.gov

+** Scroll down to:
Director’s Office Programs

** Click on link for:
Office for Victims of Crime

¢ Click on link for:
Crime Victims’ Compensation (CVC)

+* Click on link for:

Sexual Assault Forensic
Examination (SAFE)

¢ Click on link for:
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+* Click on link for:
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Emergency vs. Non-emergency

EXAMINATION AND INCIDENT INFORMATION
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» ONLY applies to patients age 0-13 years

> Emergency forensic exam - An examination of a person age 0-13 years that
occurs within 5 days of the alleged sexual offense

» Regquires one emergency reason
» Transfer of trace biological material
» Child at risk of pregnancy
» Child complains of pain in the genital or anal area
» Evidence or complaint of anogenital bleeding or injury

» Non-emergency forensic exam - An examination of a person age 0-13 years that
occurs more than 5 days after the alleged sexual offense

» Requires signature of SAFE-CARE provider who either performed or reviewed
exam



SAFE-CARE Provider

Sexual assault forensic examination - child abuse resource education

"SAFE-CARE provider", a physician, advanced practice nurse, or physician's
assistant licensed in this state who provides medical diagnosis and treatment to
children suspected of being victims of abuse and who receives:

#a) Missouri-based initial intensive training regarding child maltreatment
rom the SAFE CARE network;

(b) On%oing update training on child maltreatment from the SAFE CARE
network;
(c) Peer review and new provider mentoring regarding the forensic

evaluation of children suspected of being victims of abuse from the SAFE
CARE network;

SAFE-CARE provider training is conducted through the SAFE-CARE Network by
Missouri KidsFirst and the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services.



Required signatures

» Victim, parent, or guardian consenting to the forensic exam, or if not
available or if verbal consent, then the agency requesting the exam

» Medical provider performing the forensic exam

» If applicable, SAFE-CARE provider reviewing the forensic exam

» Only for a non-emergency exam on a child age 0-13 years if exam was not
performed by a SAFE-CARE provider

AUTHORIZATION FOR EXAMINATION REQUESTED BY VICTIM/PARENT/GUARDIAN
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Procedural checklist

MISS0URI DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY (DPS5)
SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAMMNATION CHECKLIST

Check all items as provided during the sexual assault forensic exam.

g USizad apprapriate evidenos odlection ki (Kansas City, SL Lows or Highway Paind Lab)
Comgiated screaning axam far Emargancy Medical Condifion
Achvatad badside adwacacy
Acivalad irdefimier
Intervenions lor dsabiliies
Civiainad history of assaul fncuding narasive)
Chtanad history of drug faciltated soual assal (J indicated)
Ohtaned consen! or evaluaion and reatman
Dhtaned consent for evidenSary SAFE exam
Obtained consent far phalogrmaphy
Chiainad consen! for drug screaning § doug incilitated sl indicmed)
Dhtaned consent for release of infhsmafon o al appopriale agencies
Chtaned onsent for law enfarcemnent acivalion jper pafiant mquesd)
Calectad wine for dnug facitaled sexual ascaull
Calectad underwaar warn during or immadiztely after the assait
Callactad ciofing, as kvensicaly indicatad, in brown papar bags, ssasd and Bbaled
Ohianed swahe & smears fom dl amas Fal vicim slales ware biflen or ided
Ohianed swahs & smears Fom apropriale aneas as idenifed using an alemaive ight soumea
Callactad bood standad (il farensically indicated)
Utiizad oime scane invesigatos for bite mark impressions (i orensically indicated)
Calectad aral swab for DNA Standand (i lorensicaly indicated)
Callacted oral swabe & omear (i omly ascauied)
Callectad anal swabs & smear §if omnsicaly indicated)
Callectad vaging swabe & smaar ([ bmnsicaly ndcated)
Calected cervical swahs & smear i bensicaly indcated)
Callectad panile swabe & smaar (i omnsicaly ndcated)
Callectad head hair standard [if forensically indicated)
Callactad pubic hair standard §f foren sically indicaed)
Caomplatad laluiding dya acan §f forensically indicated)
Compiated X-rays §f ndcated)
Comglated CTs (if indicsed)
Callactad unknown sampls|s) §if lorensically indicated)
Drascriba:
Callectad Sngermai scapings (i forensoally indicated)
Photography: (with colboscapa ar digital)
Ganital phatagraphy by forensic examner
Hon-gania phatagmphy by fomnsic axaminar
Levss than 10 phaos
Maore fan 10 photas
Forensic svidencs sloragedog (as indcated)
Comgiation of DHSS Adult Famals Sexual Azca it Exan Farm, Adult Male Seousl Accs it Exam Foemn, ar Child Sexual Ascaultl Exam
Farm
Confidental forensic pafen! fle separate Fom general hospial medical recands
Forensic axam conducled by forensicaly raned physcian or healthcars provider such as Seoual Assault Nurss Examine (SANE)
Lakbe

Chiamydia
Ganorhaa
Pragnancy les!
Trichamaonas
Usnalysis
Usne Culkre
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Forensic axam withou! garital axam
+ Faderal Violenos Against Women Act prohibits mandatory reporing 1o Bw enfomsment o obtain sendcss.,
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Indicate each procedure
performed during the
forensic exam.



Procedural checklist — drug facilitated

Check all items as provided during the sexual assault forensic exam.

Utilized appropriate evidence collection kit (Kansas City, St. Louis or Highway Patrol Lab)
L_| Completed screening exam for Emergency Medical Condition

Activated bedside advocacy

Activated interpreter
L_| Interventions for disabilities

Obtained history of assault (including narrative)

Obtained history of drug facilitated sexual assault (if indicated)

L Obtained consent for evaluation and treatment D r U g S C ree n te Stl n g
L_| Obtained consent for evidentiary SAFE exam

Obtained consent for photography A
L_| Obtained consent for drug screening (if drug facilitated assault indicated) fo r pat I e nts a ge 14
L Obtained consent for release of information to all appropriate agencies

__ Obtained consent for law enforcement activation (per patient request) yea rSOoro I d er iS on Iy

LI Collected urine for drug facilitated sexual assault
L Collected underwear worn during or immediately after the assault

. . .
Cnllartad flathina  ae faranciralhr indicatad in hrauwm nanar hane caslad and lahalad el Igl b I e If a d rug_

Labs ' : e facilitated crime is

Chl di R R
Gonorhes indicated.

Pregnancy test
Trichomonas
Urinalysis

Urine Culture
Drug Screening

Forensic exam and genital exam without colposcope
Forensir exam withniit nanital exam



Itemized billing statement

Must include:

>
>
>

YV VY

Patient name
Account number
Diagnosis codes

» Common codes include, but are not limited to:

T74.21XA — Adult sexual abuse, confirmed
T74.22XA — Child sexual abuse, confirmed
T76.21XA — Adult sexual abuse, suspected
T76.22XA — Child sexual abuse, suspected
Z04.41 — Observation following alleged adult rape or seduction
Z04.42 — Observation following alleged child rape or seduction

YVVVYVYY

Facility name and remit to address
Forensic exam charges including description and cost



Reimbursable forensic charges

» Facility fee

» Emergency room or clinic visit

> Professional fee

» Eligible medical provider who performs forensic exam and, if
appropriate, the SAFE-CARE provider who reviewed the exam

> Lab fees

» Dependent upon age of patient and if crime was drug-facilitated
» Age 0-13 years: STD, HIV, pregnancy, or drug screen
» Age 14+ years: drug screen only if drug facilitated



Reimbursement Limits

» Hospitals
> Up to $900
(includes facility and professional fees)
» Clinics / Child Advocacy Centers
» Up to $650
(includes facility and professional fees)

» Labs
» Up to S200

(for exams conducted at either hospital, clinic/CAC or a separate facility)



Unallowable charges

» Charges for medical treatment of any injuries or
health concerns, including but not limited to:

Testing for STD or HIV (unless patient is under age 14)
Treatment/prophylaxis of STD or HIV

Antibiotics / immunizations

Pregnancy testing (unless patient is under age 14)
Emergency contraception

Wound care / laceration repair

Fractures / sprain treatment

Surgical procedures

Discharge instructions or outpatient follow-up

VVVVVVVYVYY



SAFE Program

» Primary payor for forensic exam charges

» Health insurance carrier may be billed as secondary
» Forensic exam charges may NOT be billed to the patient

» Medical treatment charges may be billed to the patient
» Refer patient to the Crime Victims’ Compensation Program

Website: dps.mo.gov
Email: cvc@dps.mo.gov
Phone: 1-800-347-6881



Questions?




Child Physical Abuse Forensic
Examination (CPAFE) Program

Missouri Department of Public Safety
OFFICE FOR VICTIMS OF CRIME



Notice

Guidance for the CPAFE Program is based on

Missouri statute 334.950.1 RSMo and
rules and regulations 11 CSR 30-12.020



Purpose

The CPAFE Program was established to cover the cost of the
professional fee for SAFE-CARE providers who

» Perform a forensic exam to collect or preserve evidence on
children age 0-17 years who have been a victim of alleged

abuse or

» Provide a case review
» Defined as a written record review or evaluation of previously
gathered photographs, medical records and investigative
information provided by a multi-disciplinary team



Eligibility Requirements

» Crime must have occurred in Missouri or, if unknown, the patient
must be a Missouri resident

» Patient must be age 17 years or younger
» Only child physical abuse is covered

» Claims must be submitted to the CPAFE Program within 90 days of
the forensic exam or the case review

Email: SAFE-CPAFE@dps.mo.gov
Fax: (573) 526-4940
Mail: PO Box 1589

Jefferson City, MO 65102

» Claim documents include:
» CPAFE Program claim form
» ltemized billing statement



CPAFE claim form

MISSOUR DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

CHILD PHYSICAL ABUSE FORENSIC EXAMINATION
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+* Scroll down to:
Director’s Office Programs

** Click on link for:
Office for Victims of Crime
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Crime Victims’ Compensation (CVC)

+* Click on link for:

Child Physical Abuse Forensic
Examination (CPAFE)

¢+ Click on link for:
Forms & Applications

¢ Click on link for:
Claim Form/Application



Required signatures

Patient, parent, or guardian consenting to the forensic exam, OR if
not available or if verbal consent, then agency requesting the exam

CONSENT FOR FORENSIC EXAMINATION

| hereby request a forensic examination for evaluation of suspected physical abuse. | understand the collection of evidence may include
photographing injuries and that photographs may indude the genital area.

| further understand that hospitals and physicians are required by law to notify the Children's Division of known or suspected child abuse. If
child abuse is found or suspected, this form and any evidence will be released to the Children’s Division, the Juvenile Justice Office, Law
Enforcement and/or the Prosecuting Attorney. This form will be submitted to the Department of Public Safety for billing purposes.

SIGNATURE OF (CHECK ONE) SIGNATURE DATE

‘ Ll Patient []Parent []Guardian

AUTHORIZATION FOR FORENSIC EXAMINATION BY REQUESTING AGENCY

| request a forensic examination be performed on the above patient who is suspected of being the victim of physical abuse.

NAME AND AGENCY (PLEASE PRIMNT) SIGMATURE DATE

l




Required signatures, con’t

MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL PERFORMING FORENSIC EXAMINATION

HAME OF MEDIGAL PROFE SSIONAL (PLEASE PRINT) TITLECREDENTIALS SAFE-CARE PROVIDER?
Yes No

SIGNATURE DATE FEDERAL TAX ID NUMBER SAFE-CARE ID NUMBER

SAFE-CARE PROVIDER PERFORMING CASE REVIEW

HAME OF SAFE-CARE PROVIDER (PLEASE PRINT) TITLECREDENTIALS SAFE-CARE PROVIDER?
Yes No

‘ SIGNATURE DATE FEDERAL TAX |D NUMBER SAFE-CARE ID NUMEER

» Medical professional or SAFE-CARE provider performing the
forensic exam

» SAFE-CARE provider who reviews forensic exam or performs a
case review




Itemized billing statement

Must include:

> Patient name
> Account number
» Diagnosis codes

» Common codes include but are not limited to:

T74.12XA — Child physical abuse, confirmed
T74.4XXA — Shaken baby syndrome

T74.92XA — Other child abuse and neglect
T76.12XA — Child physical abuse, suspected
T76.92XA — Child abuse, unspecified

Z04.72 — Abuse and neglect

Z04.8 — Observation following other inflicted injury

VVVYVVYVYY

» Facility name and remit to address
» Description and cost of service



Reimbursement

Professional fee for SAFE-CARE provider ONLY

> Performance of forensic exam
= UptoS750

> Review of forensic exam or case review
= Up to S400



CPAFE Program

The SAFE-CARE provider’s professional fee
should NOT be billed to the patient’s
parent, guardian or health insurance.

11 CSR 30-12.020 (8)



SAFE or CPAFE Program

If the patient is a victim of both sexual
assault and child physical abuse, only one
claim per crime event may be reimbursed.

11 CSR 30-12.020 (11)



Program Guideline Comparison

MISSOURI CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION PROGRAM

GUIDELINES FOR PROVIDERS (effective 5/1/2020)

SAFE-Provider Based

CPAFE-Provider Based

CVC-Victim Based

SAFE claims can only be
submitted by providers.

Providers submitting a SAFE
claim for consideration must
include the following:

1. a Sexuval Assault Forensic
Exam (SAFE) Program
Report; and,

2. a Sexual Assault Forensic
Exam) (SAFE) Procedural
Checklist; and

3. an Itemized Bill.

MOTE: The completed Form
1500 or Form UB-04 may serve
as the itemized bill, but will not
be accepted if not accompanied
by items 1-3 above.

SAFE daims are due no later
than 90 days from the date of
service.

CPAFE claims can only be
submitted by providers.

Providers submitting a CPAFE
claim for consideration must
include the following:

1. a Child Physical Abuse
Forensic Exam (CPAFE)
Form; and

2. an Itemized Bill.

NOTE: The completed Form
1500 may serve as the itemized
bill, but will not be accepted if
not accompanied by bath items
noted above.

CPAFE claims are due no later
than 50 days from the date of
service.

The CVC is victim-based and operates
separate and apart from SAFE and
CPAFE.

Providers may send an itemized bill to
the CWC program per the victim and/or
claimant’s request.

Providers submitting information for
consideration related to a CVC claim
must include the following:

1. the CVC assigned case number
the, CV2020-XXXX);

2. the first and last name of the
victim;

3. the victims date of birth; and

4, the Itemized Bill

If the CVC assigned case number is
unknown, the provider can request up
to 10 case numbers by emailing the
ovo@dps.mo.gov. The reguest must
include the first and last name of the
victim and the date of birth.

MOTE: The Form 1500 or the Form
UB-04 form DOES NOT qualify as an
itemized bill for the CVC program and
will not be accepted.

Completed SAFE claims can be
mailed to SAFE, PO Box 1589,
Jefferson City, MO 65101
ATTN: SAFE or emailed to
SAFE-CPAFE@dps.mo.gov

Completed CPAFE claims can be
mailed to CPAFE, PO Box 1589,

Jefferson City, MO 65101 ATTHN:

SAFE or emailed to SAFE-
CPAFE@dps.mo.gov

or faxed to 573/526-4940

or faxed to 573/526-4940

Itemized bills for CVC claims or
requests for assigned CVC numbers
and can be mailed to CVC, PO Box
1589, Jefferson City, MO 65101 ATTN:
CVC or emailed to cvc@dps.mo.gov

or faxed to 573/526-4940

. CRIMEVICTIMS'
COMPENSATION

For more information or to request training/
technical assistance for your agency, please
contact the Crime Victims' Compensation

Program at cvc@dps.mo.qov or 573/526-6006

The CVC, SAFE and CPAFE Programs are not insurance programs and should not be
considered as such in billing processes. Eligibility is based on specific crime events only.




For More Information

SAFE or CPAFE Programs
P.O. Box 1589
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1589

E-mail: SAFE-CPAFE@dps.mo.gov
Website: www.dps.mo.gov
Phone: (573) 526-6006

Fax: (573) 526-4940



Questions?




