The Community Services Block Grant is a federal, anti-poverty block grant that funds the operations of a state-administered network of local Community Action Agencies that create, coordinate and deliver many programs and services to low-income citizens in all 114 counties plus the city of St. Louis.


The Community Action Network is made up of more than 1,100 local, private, non-profit and public agencies that work to alleviate poverty and empower low-income families in communities throughout the United States. Most of these agencies are Community Action Agencies (CAAs) created through the Economic Opportunity Act (EOA) of 1964. CAAs serve over 9 million low-income people yearly in 96 percent of the nation’s counties.


By federal statute, Community Action Agencies are governed by a board of directors consisting of elected local public officials, representatives of the low-income community and appointed leaders from the private sector. This tri-partite board structure is a fundamental concept of the CSBG program