
  
How Food Stamp Customers Report Changes  
 

Missouri is a Simplified Reporting State. This means Food Stamp customers must: 

 Report certain changes when they happen  

 Complete and return the Mid-Certification Review form 

 
Reporting Changes When They Happen 

Changes that you  
must report 

 

 

 If your household’s gross monthly earned income and your unearned income 
is higher than the amount allowed.  Find that amount on the Action Notice 
you received when approved or go to: http://dss.mo.gov/fsd/pdf/food-
stamp-changes-flyer.pdf  

 

 If you have an Able-Bodied Adult without Dependents (ABAWD) in your 
household and that person is no longer meeting the 80 hours of work and/or 
training required each month (For more information, go to 
www.mydss.mo.gov) 

 

When to report 
 

By the 10th day of the next month after the change happens. 
 

Why you must  
report the change 

 

You must pay back Food Stamp benefits to the FSD if:  

 The change wasn’t reported on time, and  

 The change would have lowered the amount of Food Stamp benefits 
 

How to report 
 

 Call 1-855-FSD-INFO (1-855-373-4636) 
 

OR 
 

 Visit any local FSD office. Find one near you at: http://dss.mo.gov/dss_map 
 

OR 
 

 Submit a change report form online through the Missouri Benefits Center at:  
www.mydss.mo.gov  

 

Mid-Certification Review Form 
 

What is a  
Certification Period? 

 

 

The number of months a household is approved for benefits. Most households 
get either a 12-month or a 24-month certification period. 

 

What is the Mid-
Certification Review? 

 

 

It allows Food Stamp customers like you to confirm or update information on a 
form FSD mails to you. The form is due halfway through your certification period. 

 

Example: If a household is approved for 12 months of benefits, their  
Mid-Certification Review form will be due in month 6. 
 

http://dss.mo.gov/fsd/pdf/food-stamp-changes-flyer.pdf
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When will FSD  
mail the form to me? 

In the month before the due date.  
 

How do I complete  
the form? 

Update, sign, and return it.   

What happens if I don’t 
return the form? 

Your household will stop receiving Food Stamp benefits if you do not return the 
form.  You cannot receive benefits again unless you reapply and are approved.   
 

What happens if a 
change is not reported? 

You must pay back Food Stamp benefits to the FSD if: 

 The change wasn’t reported on time, and  

 The change would have lowered the amount of Food Stamp benefits 
 

 

You can ask for a hearing 
If the FSD changes or stops your benefits and you think the change is wrong, you can ask for a hearing. To do 
this, contact the FSD by phone or in person. See the “How to report” section above for ways to contact FSD. 
 
Note: If your income goes down or your expenses go up, you do not have to report it to the FSD. However, you 
may want to report these changes, because it may increase the amount of Food Stamp benefits you are getting. 
If this happens, the FSD will send you a written notice of the change. 
 

CIVIL RIGHTS LAW                                       
 

In accordance with Federal civil rights laws and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations 
and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering 
USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national origin, sex, religious creed, 
disability, age, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity 
conducted or funded by USDA. Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for 
program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the 
Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits.  Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have 
speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339.  Additionally, 
program information may be made available in languages other than English. 

To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-
3027) found online at: http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html, and at any USDA office, or write a 
letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the information requested in the form.  To request a 
copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992.  Submit your completed form letter to USDA by: 

(1) Mail:  U.S. Department of Agriculture 
           Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights 
           1400 Independence Avenue, SW  Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 

(2) Fax: (202) 690-7442                               

(3) Email: program.intake@usda.gov   

This institution is an equal opportunity provider. 
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