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ELIMINATION OF PLAN OF CARE.SUBMISSION WITH CLAIMS

Effective March 1, 2007, Missouri Medi¢aid will no longer require providers to submit the
following attachments with theirclaim submissions:

e HCFA-485 (HomelHealth Certification and Plan of Treatment)
e HCFA-486 (Medicalklpdate’and Patient Information)
e HCFA-487 (Addendumt¢the Plan of Treatment/Medical Update)

This change i§ also&ffective for supporting documentation submitted with electronic claims
and is a result ohMissouri Medicaid’s efforts to be consistent with Medicare claim submission
guidelines.

All supporting, documentation for services billed to Missouri Medicaid must continue to be
maintained by the Home Health agency (HHA) in the patient’s record as required by Section
13.8 of the Home Health Provider Manual and must be available upon request by the Division
of Medical Services.

PRIOR AUTHORIZED SERVICES

Home Health services requiring prior authorizations in accordance with section 8.2 of the
Home Health Provider Manual will continue to require the attachment of the HCFA-485,
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HCFA-486, HCFA-487, and any other supporting documentation, with the submission of the
prior authorization request.

PHYSICIAN CERTIFICATION SIGNATURE REQUIREMENT

Effective March 1, 2007, Missouri Medicaid will be changing the ten daysdrequikement on
Physician Certification signatures, to be consistent with Medicare guidelines.

Certification dates prior to March 1, 2007 must continue to meet the prior policy;whi€h states:
"The Plan of Care for any certification period, two calendar moniths or 60 days, must be
signed and dated by the attending physician either within the cértification dates or no earlier
than ten days before the beginning of the certification period.”

For dates of service on or after March 1, 2007, the physician certification may cover a period
less than but not greater than 60 days. The Plan_of Care for any certification period two
calendar months or 60 days, must be signed and datedyby the attending physician before a
claim is submitted for payment. The form may be signed by another physician who is
authorized by the attending physician to care fonthe recipient in the physician’s absence. |If
the physician omits the date, the provider must enter the date the Plan of Care was received
back from the physician.

Rubber signature stamps and electfenic pliysigian signatures are acceptable using Medicare
guidelines. Medicare's policy on rubber stamp signature states, "HHAs may accept a
physician's rubber stamp signature whenythey are permitted to do so by Federal, state and
local law and when this is a@ithorized by the HHA's policy. The individual whose signature the
stamp represents must place in the, administrative offices of the agency a signed statement
attesting that he/she is the .only oné who has the stamp and uses it." This guidance can be
found at: http://www.cms.hhggov/SurveyCertificationGenlnfo/downloads/SCLetter04-35.pdf.

The Medicare golicy for electronic signatures states: "HHAs that maintain patient records by
computer rather than™hard, copy may use electronic signatures. However, all such entries
must be appropriately authenticated and dated. Authentication must include signatures,
written initials, or c@mputer secure entry by a unique identifier of a primary author who has
reviewed, and approved the entry. The HHA must have safeguards to prevent unauthorized
access to theéwecords and a process for reconstruction of the records in the event of a system
breakdown." This policy is found at:
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/manuals/Downloads/bp102c07.pdf.
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Provider Bulletins are available on the DMS Web site at http://dss.mo.gov/dms/providers/pages/bulletins.htm.
Bulletins will remain on the Provider Bulletins page only until incorporated into the provider manuals as
appropriate, then moved to the Archived Bulletin site.

Missouri Medicaid News: Providers and other interested parties are urged to go to the DMS Web site at
http://dss.missouri.gov/dms/global/pages/mednewssubscribe.htm to subscribe to the electronic mailing list to
receive automatic notifications of provider bulletins, provider manual updates, and other official Missouti
Medicaid communications via e-mail.

MC+ Managed Care: The information contained in this bulletin applies to coveragé for:

¢ MC+ Fee-for-Service
e Medicaid Fee-for-Service
e Services not included in MC+ Managed Care

Questions regarding MC+ Managed Care benefits should be directed toithe patient's MC+ Managed Care health
plan. Before delivering a service, please check the patient’s eligibility status by swiping the red MC+ card or by
calling the Interactive Voice Response (IVR) System at 573-635-8908,and using Option One.

Provider Commuhnieations Hotline
573-751-2896
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