How we support youth in care

Our goal is to keep children safely at home with their family when possible. In situations where this is not possible, FFPSA aims to keep children in a family-like setting. To help with this goal, the need for foster homes in Missouri will continue to increase. We will continue to make foster family recruitment a priority to help support our children and families in their communities.

If a child requires a higher level of support and would benefit from a non-family like setting, FFPSA puts additional restrictions and higher accountability to make sure the placement is:

  • Temporary
  • Focusing on the youth’s specific needs
  • Providing plans for after discharge to help the youth successfully return to their family and community

What types of placements are there?

Placement options include:

  • Family foster home, including relative homes
  • Placements for pregnant and/or parenting youth
  • Independent living programs for youth over the age of 18
  • Therapeutic foster homes
  • Qualified Residential Treatment Programs (QRTP) for youth with higher treatment needs
  • Placements for youth at risk and/or victims of human trafficking
  • Family-based residential treatment facilities for substance use disorder

What is a Qualified Residential Treatment Program?

A Qualified Residential Treatment Program (QRTP) is a specific designated non family-based placement designed to help serve children with higher treatment needs who need a short-term placement outside of their family home. FFPSA federal funds can only be used for non-family based placements designated as QRTP’s and they must meet the following requirements:

  • Licensed and Accredited
  • Utilize a trauma-informed treatment model
  • Access to a registered nurse 24/7
  • Family members must be involved in the treatment process
  • Six months of post discharge services

Within 30 days of placement in a QRTP an assessment must be completed by a qualified individual to determine if this setting is in the child’s best interest. This is considered an independent assessor process.