Media Release Banner


September 23, 2013

MO HealthNet Notification of HIPAA Disclosure

Jefferson City, MO—On August 5th, MO HealthNet reported that it was notifying 1,357 individuals in managed care plans that some of their personal information was mailed to an incorrect address by one of its contractors, Infocrossing, Inc. between October 16, 2011 and June 7, 2013. The incorrect mailing was caused by a software programming error. MO HealthNet is now notifying an additional 25,461 individuals that some of their personal information may have been mailed to an incorrect address by Infocrossing, Inc. between December 21, 2009 and June 7, 2013 due to a computer system error discovered on July 25, 2013. MO HealthNet has since identified and corrected the computer system error.

No medical or financial information was released as a result of the mailings. The type of information released potentially included participant name, date of birth, MO HealthNet identification account number (DCN), county name, phone number, and either the last four digits of the social security number, or the full social security number for approximately half of the group.

In compliance with federal and state privacy laws, MO HealthNet has sent written notices to individuals affected by the mailings, informing them that some personal information may have been disclosed. Individuals who receive a notification from MO HealthNet may call the following toll-free number 877-309-0021 to address any concerns and to learn how to protect against identity theft. Although the department has received no reports of identity theft or other wrongdoing as result of this incident, MO HealthNet, through Infocrossing, Inc., is offering affected consumers free continuous credit monitoring services and enhanced identity theft consultation and restoration for two years. These services are being offered to affected consumers at the courtesy of Infocrossing Inc. and at no additional cost to the taxpayer.

MO HealthNet Managed Care is operational in the City of St. Louis and the following counties of Missouri: Audrain, Bates, Benton, Boone, Callaway, Camden, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clay, Cole, Cooper, Franklin, Gasconade, Henry, Howard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Laclede, Lafayette, Lincoln, Linn, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Osage, Perry, Pettis, Phelps, Pike, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Saline, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Shelby, Vernon, Warren, and Washington.


Media Contact

Rebecca Woelfel