The Blind Pension program was established by Missouri statute in 1921. This program provides assistance for blind persons who do not qualify under the Supplemental Aid to the Blind law and who are not eligible for Supplemental Security Income benefits. Each eligible person receives a monthly cash grant, as well as MO HealthNet coverage. Refer to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled Program Descriptions chart for the current cash grant amount.
Who Is Eligible?
- is 18 years of age or older;
- is living in Missouri and intends to remain;
- is a United States citizen or eligible non-citizen;
- has not given away, sold, or transferred real or personal property in order to be eligible for Blind Pension;
- effective August 28, 2018, is single, or married and living with spouse, and does not own real or personal property worth more than $29,999.99. In determining the value of real or personal property, the real estate occupied by the blind person or spouse as the home shall be excluded.
- is of good moral character;
- effective August 28, 2018, has no sighted spouse whose income is equal to or more than 500% of the Federal Poverty Level;
- does not publicly solicit alms;
- is determined to be totally blind as defined by law (up to 5/200 or visual field of less than 5 degrees in the better eye);
- effective August 28, 2018, does not have a valid driver license in any state or territory;
- effective August 28, 2018, may not operate a motor vehicle;
- is found to be ineligible for Supplemental Aid to the Blind;
- is willing to have a medical treatment or an operation to cure their blindness, unless they are 75 years old or older;
- is not a resident of a public, private, or endowed institution except a public medical institution; and
- is found ineligible to receive federal Supplemental Security Income benefits.
For information regarding medical coverage included with Blind Pension, see MO HealthNet Services-MO HealthNet.